HTML Generator


The Hong Kong Ladies Open

The Hong Kong Ladies Open

The first world-class ladies professional Open tournament to have ever been staged in the HKSAR, the inaugural Hong Kong Ladies Open, staged in 2015, featured 108 players drawn from countries across the Asia to compete for the US$120,000 prize purse in addition to important Rolex Women’s World Rankings points. Prize money for the 2016 and 2017 editions has been raised to US$150,000.

Initiated by Club and sanctioned by the Ladies Asian Golf Tour, the Taiwan Ladies Professional Golf Association and, since 2017, the China Ladies Professional Golf Association, this groundbreaking event is held over the territory’s first 18-hole layout, the venerable Old Course.

A most welcome addition to Hong Kong’s international sporting calendar, the inaugural event was won in fine style by Korea’s Lee Jeong-hwa, who finished with a three-under-total.

In 2016, the event provided arguably the most exhilarating moment in Hong Kong golfing history when Tuen Mun-born amateur Tiffany Chan thrilled the local galleries with a magnificent play-off victory. Tiffany, a member of the Club, beat a field packed full of professional talent for a victory that made headlines around the region and underscored her remarkable talent.

What’s more, the win gave Tiffany, who has since turned professional, the impetus – and the ranking points – to go on to qualify for the Rio Olympics on the occasion of golf’s return to the summer games for the first time in over a century. Tiffany did her city proud, finishing that event in a share of 37th.

The 2017 Hong Kong Ladies Open saw the introduction of EFG Bank AG as title sponsor. Thailand’s Supamas Sangchan took away the first prize after finishing on an excellent three-round total of 206 (10-under-par).

The 4th Hong Kong Ladies Open was played on the Old Course in May 2018. Again title-sponsored by EFG Bank AG, the event was tri-sanctioned by China LPGA, Taiwan LPGA and the Ladies Asian Golf Tour. After three days of intense competition, Thailand’s Langkulgasettrin Saranporn claimed victory in a play-off over Chinese Taipei’s Chen Szu Han while Tiffany Chan received the Leading Hong Kong Player Trophy. 4,450 spectators attended the event.